Skip to content

Jellyfish in Vinegar

May 9, 2011

One fine day I needed to use some rice vinegar. So I pulled it out of the cupboard and set it down on the counter, but something caught my eye. There was something white inside the glass container. I took a closer look, thinking perhaps the vinegar was expired and some random mold had grown inside the bottle. But no, Kiersten, that’s silly. Nothing grows in vinegar … right?

 

<blink> <blink>

A Jellyfish?

I searched all over the internet for anything like this happening at all, and absolutely nothing came up. Trippy.

Soooo … Won’t be using the rice vinegar. The bottle has a place of honor on our counter now. We’re a little nervous that if we break it open the jellyfish will jump out and strangle us or something.  Anyone else have any creepy unopened food stories?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 1:02 pm

    A friend of mine referred me to some links about a “vinegar mother,” he thinks that is what it is. Well vinegar mother or not and “okay to ignore” or not it is still super creepy.

  2. May 9, 2011 1:22 pm

    I’d take it back to where you bought it and demand a refund. Haha. That’s gross and very creepy!

  3. May 9, 2011 8:05 pm

    That is really creepy. I’ve never had anything like that in my many varieties of vinegar in my pantry. I once thought something was growing in my olive oil, but it turned out that my pantry was cold and it was just solidifying. It went away when I brought it up to room temperature.

  4. Jecia permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:06 pm

    That’s so cool! You should tell your local newspaper about this! this will totally outdo the fingers at Wendy’s story.

  5. Amy permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:33 pm

    That is so nutso!! How weird. We have a friend that a hard mass (possibley a fruit pit) that had molded in an unopened caprisun. Ewww. They contacted Caprisun who said it happens sometimes and wouldn’t refund there money. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

